1860's Cottage combined with W Hotel Style Elegance

Surrounded by Awe Inspiring Natural Beauty

Still Light Pond
A Mini Country Estate Located in Western Sonoma County


Put Cursor Over the "Reviews" Link and the "More Reviews" Link Will Appear



Please see the following reviews from guests. Listed by date

Lue C. said...Jun 17, 2016

Most Impressive Vacation Home we Have Stayed In
My family had a great time. We are already thinking about booking our next stay in a few months. The property is well maintained with amazing decoration. We truly appreciate the overall design and the comfort of the place. This is simply the best vacation home we have stayed in by far. Thank you.



Erica B. said...Jun 2, 2016
Charming and Amazing at the same time
I can't say enough about Still Light Pond! It is the greatest home we have ever rented! We will stay there every time we visit the area. The home is so cute and has everything you would ever Need! The master suite is incredible. The Views from every room you can stare at for days. If you have kids, I'm quite sure there is no better place to stay. My kids LOVED it and can't wait to go back.



Mindy G. said...May 23, 2016
This is the place to relax.
Exactly as advertised, my husband and I along with another couple immensely enjoyed this lovely, cozy homestead. Very private with many spots to simply hang out and relax all of us appreciated the quiet beauty of the property. The kitchen was a perfect gathering spot for breakfast and planning our day. Furnishings were charming, hot tub clean and inviting and even took the row boat out to glide along the pond. You will not be disappointed with your choice to stay here. The only intruder on the property was a deer and her baby early in the am. We were sorry to have to leave. The owners were out of sight but quick to respond to any questions. Looking forward to returning.


Janet G. said...Sep 10, 2015
Epic Weekend
Still Light Pond was magical. With estate-like grounds, a beautiful pond featuring singing frogs and blooming water lilies, a gourmet high end kitchen and a warm hot bubbling tub, we felt pampered from the moment we walked in. We felt like little kids exploring the redwood grove, swinging in the hammocks, and checking out the tent cabin. Never understood the allure of the wine country until visiting this very special and very romantic home. We even watched 4 deer drinking from the pond at dusk. Great weekend all around with wonderful friends. If you ever want to get out of the city and into the perfect little country estate, this house is for you.
Recommended for: Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway


Hannah B. said...Jul 24, 2015
Idyllic Escape
Still Light Pond is a beautiful, quiet, magical, eclectic home set in a wonderful part of Sonoma County. Other reviews accurately describe the furnishings and setting. This property truly boasts interesting, modern, luxurious amenities set amongst a fantastic natural landscape. We so enjoyed waking up every morning to the views of the property through the large floor to ceiling windows. The kitchen was perfect for making breakfast and the home provided ample nooks and spaces for us to read, talk, relax. The home could easily accommodate larger parties, but my partner and I made use of most of the space; it had an inherently intimate feel even though it was, admittedly, larger than we probably needed. Occidental is a great home base for exploring all the area had to offer; we comfortably took day trips to Sonoma, Armstrong National Forest, and the coast, and also enjoyed dining locally several nights during our stay. We would happily return should Northern California be on our future travel agenda.


Katrina B. said...Jun 27, 2015
Beautifully designed house in a gorgeous natural setting
There was something for everyone in our family of five at Still Light Pond - our kids were thrilled to be swimming, boating and fishing on the pond and my husband and I so appreciated all the wonderful design elements of the house, the hot tub and the stunning natural world outside our windows and doors. The view from the master bedroom is spectacular - we loved lying in bed and listening to frogs and owls at night and watching birds early in the morning. The kitchen was very well equipped and organized, the sound system fantastic - speakers in every room, and there were so many little cozy nooks to relax in. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers


Petrina R. said...May 31, 2015
GORGEOUS HOME & PEACEFUL SETTING
We had an amazing experience at Sue & John lovely estate. From the shabby chic/French country cottage décor and comfortable amenities to the serene property surrounded by nature - it was a true getaway. Thank you for a memorable girls weekend. Looking forward to returning with my family soon!
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Pet-friendly,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway


Heidi L. said...Jan 3, 2015
A perfect home away from home
We spent four wonderful nights at "Still Pond" and couldnt have been happier. Our college age daughter loved being in the outdoor tent and the rest of us thoroughly enjoyed our indoor sleeping. The master bedroom is just paradise. Sleeping and waking to the beautiful light and grove of trees with pond in sight . The kitchen is well stocked and the outdoor areas are almost as cozy and inviting. We cant wait to come back during a different season to enjoy even more of the property, pond, swans and visitng deer just far enough a way to still be completely charming. The location is also a complete winner--close enough to the coast, the "grove of old trees" and the fantsatic small towns that are all within a short drive away.


Allison A. said...Dec 30, 2014
Perfect getaway; can't wait to go back
Everything about this house is perfect. The light-filled master suite, the incredibly well-stocked kitchen, elegant yet relaxed décor and of course the incredibly beautiful surroundings. Impeccably clean, beautifully appointed, hard to leave! We were here in rainy December and loved watching the storm from inside this cozy and gorgeous house; I can't wait to return in summer to make great use of the incredible outdoors. Incredible beaches are just minutes away --we saw 100s of harbor seals on the coast during our visit. Would absolute recommend this place--it's definitely the best house we've ever rented. And I have to mention Wildflour Bakery just down the road in Freestone--a stop there (or 3 or 4) will make your stay even better.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Romantic Getaway

Annika H. said...Nov 22, 2014
Great location for wine country, Redwood hikes and beach visits
We had a very pleasant stay at Still Light Pond in October. We were four adults looking for a getaway weekend from the toddlers. Everything was super clean and the house was pleasantly outfitted with everything that we needed for meal preparation, relaxation, privacy and electronics. The hot tub was a valued feature as well. They have impeccable taste in decor, it was just as unique and tidy as the pictures. One morning we awoke to mule deer dining along the pond, a large flock of quails gingerly walking across the backyard, and beautiful blue birds flying to and from the gorgeous deciduous trees in back. I just about expected the 1940's Snow White character to walk out and hand us a cup of coffee - we had so much fun watching nature from the house. The owners also provided us with great recommendations in the area and we enjoyed the nearby Occidental town offerings as well. It's a really neat place all around.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway


Patricia P. said...Jul 2, 2014
A little bit of heaven
We stayed for 8 days and loved this perfect home and grounds. The home is well laid out with open rooms and great outside access on several elevations. Probably not good for disabled for that reason. We celebrated with friends and family and cooked, took great day hikes and drives. Listening to the quiet and the bullfrogs cannot be beat for getting rid of stress. The master suite was incredible and the newly weds in the group slept in the tent away from the house. Not much to say negatively except that the road is a bit close and the traffic really goes quickly around the blind bend leading to the drive.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Tourists without a Car,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway


S.F. Lady said...Jun 18, 2014
Our Still Light Pond Stay...
We absolutely loved our stay at Still Light Pond. It is a beautiful country home in an incredibly serene setting. The expansive kitchen offers plenty of space for cooking and socializing; we loved it! We also enjoyed our evening rows on the pond and walking through the peaceful Redwood grove. We also appreciated the short walk to town, where we enjoyed a delicious breakfast at Howard's Station Cafe, and wonderful shopping. We cannot wait to get back here! It is a charming and rustic space at a very reasonable rate. Thank you, Sue and John!


Jaimie said...
Jun 30, 2014
Great vacation spot for R and R
This was a wonderful getaway just one and half hours from the East Bay. The house is conveniently located in Occidental which has every amenity one needs. Grocery store, hardware, restaurants, stores and much more. The home is beautifully appointed with unique furniture and pieces of interest. We loved the openness of the kitchen which is well stocked with cookware, dishes and serving utensils. Early evening cocktails under the beautiful redwoods that surround the pond was a perfect way to end the day. We found the four acre property with large lawn area were perfect for family games. We took a spin in the row boat provided at the pond and were serenaded by the frogs. Plenty to do if you like hiking, biking, wine tasting or a short drive to the beach. The beds and mattresses are top of the line (5 star hotel quality) that is seldom found in rental properties. The young adults loved sleeping out on the covered patio at night. I highly recommend this place as it is clean, quiet and spacious. The owners are super nice and responded immediately to our inquires.


Kelly M. said...May 22, 2014

Gorgeous Retreat!
Still Light Pond is an amazing property. The grounds are simply stunning! There are lots of options for enjoying the outdoors: spa, dining deck, fire pit area, tree swing, hammock, pond...I stayed here for a girls weekend getaway. The beds and linens were so comfortable! There were many options for sleeping arrangements, including a little tent cabin that overlooks the pond. The kitchen was stocked with all we needed to cook our meals. I particularly enjoyed the layout of the house -- the great room/kitchen concept made it easy for everyone to hang out together while meals were made. I also loved that the hot tub was ready to go at a good temperature upon arrival. Sue, John, and the property caretaker Nancy were all friendly and very responsive. I highly recommend choosing this property for your vacation. We'll definitely be back!


Matthew said...May 23, 2014
LOVE!!
Hands down one of the most charming homes I've ever stayed in! The pond, redwood grove, wide open fields create such a beautiful setting. The kitchen inspires you to make big family dinners, and just hang out, drink wine, and soak in the sun. Seriously--- the master bedroom might be the most pampering, gorgeous place to wake up in all of Sonoma. I'll definitely be going back! So close to Osmosis Spa, great hiking and biking, best weekend getaway ever!


Phil R. said...Jun 2, 2014
A Dream Propriety in Wine Country
My wife, and 8 month old son rented "Still Light Pond" for 2 weeks. We couldn't have been happier. 4 Acres of private Sonoma was ours. The house, one side late 1800's farmhouse, the other reminiscent of an "architectural digest spread" was comfortable and ascetically better then any of the pictures posted. The Kitchen,(Wolf,Subzero,All Clad) had everything you could want to prepare meals. The grounds, like a dream. Plus the family pup was welcome and had an amazing time. The whole propriety is fenced in. Nancy the caretaker was fantastic. The home is located a few minutes from a great market and 20 minutes to the beautiful California coastline. We will be back. Thanks so much for making the home available.


Jennifer l. said...Aug 30, 2014
6th? 7th? Time?
This is a long overdue review. My husband and my family + dogs have stayed at Still Light Pond no fewer than 6 or 7 times. I can't remember. Our most favorite place to be in California, hands down. I was worried that the property would go off the vacation rental market when the former owner sold, but I'm thrilled that is hasn't. We'll be scheduling time to visit soon. I miss it.


Ryan Cleland said... Oct 22, 2013 - Beautiful retreat in a quaint town. Date of Stay October 10, 2013 Helpful votes:0/0. This house was a great retreat and the pics did not do it justice. Beautiful house with a great atmosphere.


Lynn Spiegel said... Oct 8, 2013 - Beautiful fantastic wonderful ... Date of Stay October 3, 2013 Our family just returned from the most wonderful weekend getaway at this home. My children absolutely adored exploring the pond, forest and orchards on the grounds of this property. Everything was impeccable inside and outside this home. The kitchen is the most well appointed I have ever seen at a rental property--it was just like being at home. We were so comfortable! Beautifully decorated. I loved it all!


Michael Coffino said... Sep 1, 2013 - A Local Netherland Date of Stay August 5, 2013 This place, called SLP, is idyllic. If you go there with someone you are “dating” or in a "relationship," you likely will leave engaged to be married. If you go there to work on your writing, you probably will emerge a major step closer to a Pulitzer. If you go there to get away, well, you will get so far away, you will not want to come back. For whatever reason you want to rent a place like this, this particular place will doubtless transform you in some manner. Enjoy. Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway


Sheila Hill said... Apr 10, 2013 - Charming Cottage Date of Stay March 29, 2013  My family spent a long weekend at this charming cottage recently and had such a nice time. The vintage furnishings are nice and compliment this old farmhouse so well, but it's always nice to have all the modern conveniences such as a gourmet kitchen and hot tub! The property itself is a sanctuary, with its own redwood grove and a wide assortment of trees and shrubs. We were serenaded nightly by the pond wildlife and I enjoyed several candlelit baths in the free-standing tub. Great location close to the river, the beach and Armstrong Redwoods, the largest stand of old-growth trees in the the state. The little town of Occidental down the street has a good market and small gift shops. Howard's opens bright and early and serves the best breakfast I've had in years - don't miss it! Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway


Brad Fiedel said... Feb 7, 2013 - What a find! Date of Stay February 1, 2013 This property exceeded our expectations. The pictures don't really do it justice. We had a wonderful carefree weekend enjoying the house and grounds as well as the nearby town of Occidental and the surrounding area. The caretaker Nancy was very helpful and steered us to some great dining experiences. We felt we were staying at the beautiful home of a friend who has exquisite taste. Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway